14 comments on “WRITING – MY STORY

  1. Lovely piece Pete and I am honoured to be mentioned in dispatches. I think you are underestimating your writing skills, but if you are like me, you are NOT understating them – i know the difficulties writing poses. For me writing is an ongoing labour of challenges, of hard work, where many long hours can disappear in just creating a single page. As an avid reader, I find that your writing has a number of features that I admire – it is warm and it is authentic. Unlike you, I have read ‘Call of the Stream’ a couple of times, cover to cover. So to put your Comrades Marathon analogy to rest, come on Pete there are hopefully a few books left in you still. If there are, I will be at the front of the queue to get one – in the company of many of my friends who greatly admire your pen on paper fly fishing.

    • Thank you for your all too kind words Tom. Coming from you who has been an inspiration to me over many years for amongst other things fly fishing, your writing. I’m humbled and encouraged – thank you again.

  2. Just received my copies of the SA Fishing Flies all the way over in the US. You know have two most excellent fly fishing books under your belt: beautifully illustrated and produced, with excellent writing that are models of well done prose.

Leave a Reply

