24 comments on “DIY STRIKE INDICATOR TOOL

    • I use medical IV tubing. You can usually get it at hospital chemists, but I’m sure just general chemist outlets as well. Some places sell in different diameters as well which can be useful. A little goes a long way.

  1. Pingback: Fly Fishing Presentation: Making Strike Indicators | SwittersB & Fly Fishing

  2. Hi!

    I was searching around the web for other people who had made there own strike indicators wich lead me to your site.

    I made something similar only i used a sillicone tube from my fly tying kit. I was wondering wether your indicator moves freely along the tipped/leader? Is the fit “tight” enough to withstand the flycast?.

    I only ask this because i am having some reservations about my own set up.

    Kind regards,

    Eidur

    • Hi Eidur,
      The trick to avoiding the indicator slipping is to ensure that the volume of yarn is enough to create a fit as tight as possible in relation to the diameter of the plastic tubing you are using. If the volume is not enough it will tend to slip in the cast. I use this method on the small mountain streams I fish so long casts that require you to power the line are unnecessary. Most are short delicate casts and on these the indicator holds well, But you can slide it with your hand if you need to change depth.
      I hope this answers your question?
      Best regards
      Peter

  3. Thank you very much for the answer Peter.

    It does indeed answer my question.

    I used poly-yarn in my setup but will be experimenting with other types as well. Do you have any reccomendations in regards to that?

      • Will do Peter.

        Thank you very much for taking the time to answer my questions.

        I fish a few small streams here in Iceland so this should come in handy there.

  4. What I.D. and O.D. is the tubing you are using? I picked up some from Hone Depot the other day w/ a 3/8″ I.D. but it seems pretty thick. Thank you

    • Hi Dave – I got a supply of tubing from a medical company. It is probably also obtainale from your local pharmacy. It is a narrow IV tube with an internal diameter of slightly under 3mm and a tube wall thickness of 1mm. Somebody suggested as an alternative the rubber tubing for bicycle tube valves. I haven’t tried it so cant confirm if ok or not. I hope this helps. Best regards.

      • Thank you Peter. VERY much enjoy reading your blogs. When I have a break in my day and want to feel good and read something that “takes me away”, I turn to your page. Keep them coming. dave

  5. Hi Peter,

    If you really want a small indicator I have something better than the tube. Orthodontists use tiny (same inside diameter as a small safety pin, outside diameter smaller than a match head) elastics on braces. I saw these when I took my daughter in one day & I bummed a few strings of them. What I didn’t have was your tool so I really battled.

    The elastics are small & colored & I use them for fly bodies on bloodworm, softies, etc. they make a nice hotspot, just slide them on.

    Give ’em a try. Much more elegant & east than the tube.

  6. Thanks Dave. The needle I used when I did this blog is not ideal. I have found another which is almost identical to the NZ Strike Indicator tool and doesn’t have the hinged arm which is inclined to break off easily. I will post a picture on your FB as a private message as soon as I get a chance to photograph it.

      • Mark, I don’t unfortunately have a name for it. I scrounge haberdashery shops. I will try and get a name for it and the purpose it’s actually intended for. May help in finding one.

  7. Hi Peter,

    Awesome link this, I have had a lot of success with what they call a ‘boily’ pin that the carp fishermen use, the smallest pin found in stores. For the tubing I use left over tubing that is sold in the braided loops packets, there is always extra left after using the loops.

    Kind regards,
    Gert

    • Thanks Gert. I have also found a better pin than in the post – searched a haberdashery shop. I think it is used for embroidery or lace work. I will post a picture of it sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

